November 21, 2017, 4:56 am
Facebook iconTwitter iconYouTube iconGoogle+ icon

Deputation powers of 18 mayors, Zambo del Sur gov withdrawn

THE National Police Commission has withdrawn the deputation powers of 18 more mayors for their alleged involvement in illegal drug activities, and a governor for alleged abuse of power.

In a resolution issued last October 30, Interior Department officer in charge Catalino Cuy said the local executives were involved in illegal acts as validated by the intelligence community.

Cuy said Zamboanga del Sur Gov. Antonio Cerilles was stripped of deputation powers due to abuse of power while the mayors were involved in illegal drugs.

He identified the mayors as Crisinciano Mahilac of Sinacaban, Misamis Oriental; Michael Gutierrez of Lopez Jaena, Misamis Occidental;  Donjie Animas of Sapang Dalaga, Misamis Occidental; Jason Almonte of Oroquieta City; Juanidy Viña of Concepcion , Misamis Occidental; Ezel Villanueva of Calamba, Misamis Occidental;  Ferdinand Aguinaldo of  Pasuquin, Ilocos Norte;  Andres Lacson of Concepcion, Tarlac;  Edgardo Pamintuan of Angeles City; Jefferson Khonghun of Subic, Zambales;   Erlon Agustin  of Camiling, Tarlac;  Mariano Blanco of Ronda, Cebu;  Pablo Matinong Jr. of Santo Niño, South Cotabato; Christopher Cuan  of Libungan, North Cotabato; Albert Palencia of  Banga, South Cotabato;  Leonida Angcap of  Midsalip, Zamboanga del Sur;  Niever Cabunalda-Rosento of El Nido, Palawan, and Abraham Ibba of Bataraza, Palawan.

As deputized agents, the local executives are authorized to choose their chief of police from a list of five eligible officers recommended by the provincial police director and exercise operational control and supervision and control over members of the PNP in their jurisdiction.

The Napolcom has the power to suspend the privilege if a local executive is found to be frequently on unauthorized absences, abuse of authority, providing support to criminals, or engaging in acts inimical to national security.
Average: 5 (1 vote)